|Maesmawr (the main
house at MWAC) dates back to 1526
and was originally a Welsh longhouse
that grew into a successful farm.
Much of the original structure remains.
In 1820 the imposing Georgian front
Cathy Knapp saw that the spacious
interior and grounds had potential
for a gallery and sculpture park
as well as a centre for learning
and encouraging the arts.
With a background in Arts Education
she is keen to foster talent and
promote interest in the arts.
Her late husband the internationally
renowned enamellist and sculptor
Stefan Knapp left a unique collection
of paintings and sculpture which
are on display in the house and
Her son Ivan Knapp also has a studio,
with work on display.
Maesmawr Art Centre has grown as
a result of an initiative by Powys
Arts Forum's 'Harvesting the Arts'
programme which encouraged artists'
This area of Mid Wales has fostered
a wealth of artists, who have been
able to find the space they need
for their work and recognised the
magical beauty of the area.
Artists are involved in the direction
of the centre, offer workshops and
are available for commissions.